### The Bavarian State Parliament's Committees









Beniamin Adjei GRU

Konrad Baur CSU

Martin Behringer



AfD

Oskar

Atzinger



Dr. Martin Brunnhuber FW







Björn

CSU

Jungbauer

CSU

FW

Gabriele

Triebel

GRU



Wolfgang Fackler CSU



Ramona Storm Peter AfD Tomaschko CSU



**Kristan Freiherr** Christian von Waldenfels Zwanziger CSU GRU



**Michael Koller** Tobias Reiß CSU



Markus Walbrunn

AfD

in the Bavarian State Parliament's plenary. The committee then decide internally which member of Parliament they generally hold public meetings.

#### Publisher

The Bavarian State Parliament Committee on Education and **Cultural Affairs** Maximilianeum Max-Planck-Straße 1 81675 München

Postal address Bayerischer Landtag 81627 München Phone +49 89 4126-0 Fax +49 89 4126-1392 landtag@bayern.landtag.de www.bayern.landtag.de

Last updated: January 2024 19th electoral term (2023-2028)



Many citizens associate the term "Bavarian State Parliament" with the image of a plenary session in a plenary chamber. However, the standing committees that are appointed for the duration of the electoral term are just as important to the parliamentary work. Each of the currently 14 standing committees is responsible for one area of politics that its members specialise in. They advise on bills and motions and submit recommendations for a resolution. As a result, the committees prepare the content for the plenary session's meetings and decisions.

The committees can request the presence of any member of the state government at their meetings. State government members and their officers have access to committee meetings and must be heard at any time. The committees also deal with petitions and complaints from citizens and take a final vote on these.

All of the Bavarian State Parliament's parliamentary groups are represented on the committees, which have 14, 18 or 21 members depending on their field. At the same time, the political majorities on the committee must correspond to those chairmanships are also distributed across the parliamentary groups based on relative strength. The parliamentary groups delegate to a committee and who should take over the chairmanship or vice chairmanship, as necessary. The committees

## **Committee on Education** and Cultural Affairs



**Bayerischer** Landtag

# The Committee on Education and Cultural Affairs



Chairwoman: Dr. Ute Eiling-Hütig (CSU) Vice Chairwoman: Gabriele Triebel (GRU)

## **Duties**

The committee on Education and Cultural Affairs is one of the Bavarian State Parliament's 14 standing committees with a total of 18 members of Parliament: eight CSU members, three members each from FREIE WÄHLER (FW), AfD and Alliance 90/The Greens (GRU) and one SPD member.

The range of tasks covers all areas of school policy; from curricula to internal school development and measures for teacher training through to school funding.

The committee is therefore involved in all matters relating to pupils, teaching staff, in particular the qualification and recruitment of teaching staff and work with parents. The Education Committee is responsible for advising on laws and motions. Reforms that significantly change school life are largely reflected in the Bavarian Education and Teaching Act (BayEUG), which summarizes the entire Bavarian school system. One of the committee's main tasks is to continually adapt this law as necessary. The joint teaching of children with and without special educational needs (inclusion) is also enshrined in the BayEUG. The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities has thus been implemented. The committee will monitor further developments.

Other challenges for the coming years include: the further expansion of all-day offers and all-day schools, teacher training, equal educational conditions in urban and rural areas as well as good integration of children with a migration background and ensuring participation for all children and young people.

Promoting sustainable developments in education and preparing pupils for responsible participation in our society is also essential for the Committee. Civic education is a fundamental building block of an active and informed citizenry that appreciates and upholds the values of democracy. In 2020, the state government's "Overall Concept for the Culture of Remembrance" was adopted, which provides a framework for the further development of Bavaria's central memorials to the crimes of the Nazi dictatorship and its victims. The committee receives regular reports and thus participates in the discussion.

Adult education is another important topic for the committee. This involves the continuous promotion of lifelong learning and the adaptation of educational opportunities to the needs of a constantly changing society.

The committee regularly consults experts in preparation for decisions.

The committee also deals with your concerns. By regularly processing petitions from citizens and taking into account the wishes and suggestions for improvement of associations and interest groups, the committee ensures that your voice is heard.

## Meetings

The meetings always take place on Thursdays during sitting weeks. They are convened and chaired by the chairwoman. Besides the committee members and head of the committee office, state government representatives responsible for the specific agenda items also attend.

With important political issues, responsible members of the government are also present. The Bavarian State Parliament's shorthand writers' service documents the meetings.