Members



Beniamin Adiei GRU



Dieter Arnold AfD



Martin Böhm AfD



Cemal Bozoğlu GRU



Alex Dorow CSU



CSU

Karl Freller



Sebastian Friesinger CSU



Dr. Gerhard Hopp CSU



Andreas Kaufmann CSU



Ulrike Müller FW



Markus Rinderspacher SPD



Martin Scharf FW



Gabi Schmidt FW



Peter Wachler CSU

The Bayarian State Parliament's Committees



and decisions.

final vote on these.

generally hold public meetings.

Publisher



Many citizens associate the term "Bavarian State Parliament" with the image of a plenary session in a plenary chamber. However, the standing committees that are appointed for the duration of the electoral term are just as important to the parliamentary work. Each of the currently 14 standing committees is responsible for one area of politics that its members specialise in. They advise on bills and motions and submit

recommendations for a resolution. As a result, the commit-

tees prepare the content for the plenary session's meetings

The committees can request the presence of any member of the state government at their meetings. State government members and their officers have access to committee

meetings and must be heard at any time. The committees also deal with petitions and complaints from citizens and take a

All of the Bavarian State Parliament's parliamentary groups

are represented on the committees, which have 14, 18 or 21 members depending on their field. At the same time, the political majorities on the committee must correspond to those

in the Bavarian State Parliament's plenary. The committee chairmanships are also distributed across the parliamentary

groups based on relative strength. The parliamentary groups then decide internally which member of Parliament they delegate to a committee and who should take over the chair-

manship or vice chairmanship, as necessary. The committees



















Committee on Federal and **European Affairs** and Interregional **Relations**



Postal address

Last updated: January 2024 19th electoral term (2023-2028)



Bayerischer Landtag

The Committee on Federal and European Affairs and Interregional Relations



Chairperson: N.N.
Vice Chairwoman: Ulrike Müller (FW)

Duties

14 members of Parliament in total belong to the Committee on Federal and European Affairs and Interregional Relations: six CSU members, three members from the FREIE WÄHLER (FW), two members each from AfD and Alliance 90/The Greens (GRU) and one SPD member

In the face of the growing importance of decisions at European level for Bavarian state policy, the "Committee for Information on Federal Affairs" changed its name to "Committee for Information on Federal Matters and European Affairs" back in April 1978. Today the committee operates under the name "Committee on Federal and European Affairs and Interregional Relations".

The committee's remit includes all the European Union's basic topics and issues, for example changes to its founding treaties, the expansion and financing of the EU, the provision of public services, cross-border and regional cooperation etc. The aim of the committee's work is to identify and

formulate Bavarian interests and to incorporate them into the EU standard-setting process or into the working process of supraregional bodies at the earliest possible stage. To this end, the committee conducts expert hearings, for example, and keeps itself regularly informed on the key focal points of the activities of the EU Commission and the six-monthly rotating Council Presidency. It also deals with Green and White Papers and participates in the EU Commission's consultations; these are often at the beginning of an EU legislative process and serve to disclose the position of the EU Commission and give all parties concerned the opportunity to formulate their own interests.

One focus of the committee's work is to monitor the subsidiarity of draft EU regulations and directives. It examines each draft EU legislative act to determine whether a standardised EU regulation is necessary. The EU can only act in those areas in which it has an authorisation, and only when a standardised regulation on EU level is necessary and commensurate. If the committee identifies a subsidiarity complaint, there is routinely a corresponding State Parliament decision at the end of the proceedings. This vote must in turn be taken into account by the State Government during the final deliberations in the Bundesrat. The vote is also sent directly to the European Commission, the European Parliament and the European Committee of the Regions.

The committee was given the new responsibility of "interregional relations" at the beginning of the 17th electoral term. The remit here is to foster the State of Bavaria's diverse relations with its neighbouring countries, with European states and regions but also with non-European partner regions and to create sustainable structures for parliamentary exchange. In this context, particular importance is also attached to "development cooperation". The Bavarian State Parliament unanimously agreed on "Development Policy Guidelines" with its decision on 17 February 2016, printed paper 17/10078 on the basis of the deliberations of the Committee on Federal and European Affairs and Interregional Relations.

Since then, these principles have formed a common framework of values on which the State of Bavaria's development cooperation is based.

The committee is also responsible for advising on federal affairs. These are often motions requesting the State Government to act in a particular manner at federal level. The committee advises on these motions from all policy areas, which have previously been handled in the specialised committees. The aim is to preserve and strengthen Bavaria's independence within the Federal Republic of Germany's federal system.

To sum up, the committee sees itself as a guardian of Bavarian authority and interests at both federal and European level. Furthermore, it is the worldwide contact for the parliamentary cultivation of the State of Bavaria's interregional relations.

Meetings

The meetings always take place on Tuesdays during sitting weeks. They are convened and chaired by the chairperson. Besides the committee members and head of the committee office, state government representatives responsible for the specific agenda items also attend.

With important political issues, responsible members of the government are also present. The Bavarian State Parliament's shorthand writers' service documents the meetings.