#### The Bavarian State Parliament's Committees







Sebastian

Friesinger

CSU

GRU



Leo Dietz CSU

Mia Goller GRU

Johann Groß FW







Petra Therese Högl CSU

Nikolaus Kraus Dr. Petra Loibl FW CSU



Gerd

AfD





Harald Mannes Meußgeier AfD

**Ruth Müller** SPD

Ulrike Müller FW



**Thomas Pirner** Sascha CSU Schnürer CSU



Kristan Freiherr Christian von Waldenfels Zwanziger CSU GRU



Thorsten Schwab CSU

**Ralf Stadler** AfD





Many citizens associate the term "Bavarian State Parliament" with the image of a plenary session in a plenary chamber. However, the standing committees that are appointed for the duration of the electoral term are just as important to the parliamentary work. Each of the currently 14 standing committees is responsible for one area of politics that its members specialise in. They advise on bills and motions and submit recommendations for a resolution. As a result, the committees prepare the content for the plenary session's meetings and decisions.

The committees can request the presence of any member of the state government at their meetings. State government members and their officers have access to committee meetings and must be heard at any time. The committees also deal with petitions and complaints from citizens and take a final vote on these.

All of the Bavarian State Parliament's parliamentary groups are represented on the committees, which have 14, 18 or 21 members depending on their field. At the same time, the political majorities on the committee must correspond to those in the Bavarian State Parliament's plenary. The committee chairmanships are also distributed across the parliamentary groups based on relative strength. The parliamentary groups then decide internally which member of Parliament they delegate to a committee and who should take over the chairmanship or vice chairmanship, as necessary. The committees generally hold public meetings.

### Publisher

The Bavarian State Parliament Committee on Food. Agriculture, Forestry and Tourism Maximilianeum Max-Planck-Straße 1 81675 München

Postal address Bayerischer Landtag 81627 München Phone +49 89 4126-0 Fax +49 89 4126-1392 landtag@bayern.landtag.de www.bayern.landtag.de

Last updated: September 2024 19th electoral term (2023-2028)



**Committee on Food, Agriculture, Forestry** and Tourism



**Bayerischer** Landtag

# The Committee on Food, Agriculture, Forestry and Tourism



Chairperson: N.N. Vice Chairwoman: Petra Högl (CSU)

## Aufgaben

The Committe on Food, Agriculture, Forestry and Tourism is one of fourteen permanent committees of the Bavarian State Parliament. 18 members of Parliament in total belong to the committee: eight CSU members, three members each from FREIE WÄHLER (FW), AfD and ALLIANCE 90/ THE GREENS (GRU) and one SPD member.

The Committee is focussed on efficient farming and sustainable forestry that secures the supply of high-quality food and renewable raw materials in our own country. At the same time, farms should be able to generate sufficient income and public services should be appropriately rewarded. It is therefore all about strengthening rural areas on the whole and last but not least preparing for demographic change. The food industry, an exceptionally innovative and productive branch of the economy, is inextricably linked to agriculture. SME structures should be supported here. Producers, intermediate trade and processing businesses should be able to work even more efficiently hand in hand and improve their competitiveness.

There is also an increasing focus on raising people's awareness of healthy and regionally produced food, e.g. through appropriate information programmes in schools. Other priorities include training and further education for professions in agriculture and forestry, home economics, the hotel and catering industry with the aim of providing qualified local advice, practical research and innovation. This will strengthen agriculture and forestry, rural areas and tourism for the coming decades.

In addition to this wide range of tasks, the committee discusses motions and draft legislation relating to the specialist areas of food, agriculture, forestry and tourism. The committee can also hold expert hearings to round off its opinion and prepare decisions. In addition, the committee discusses and decides on petitions from citizens that fall within its specialised area of responsibility.

### Meetings

The meetings always take place on Wednesdays during sitting weeks. They are convened and chaired by the chairperson. Besides the committee members and head of the committee office, state government representatives responsible for the specific agenda items also attend.

With important political issues, responsible members of the government are also present. The Bavarian State Parliament's shorthand writers' service documents the meetings.