Constitution of the Free State of Bavaria

The Constitution of the Free State of Bavaria governs the independence of the Free State as a federal state of the Federal Republic of Germany. It was passed by the National Assembly on 26 October 1946. After a determination by the Council of Ministers of 4 December it came into effect with its publication in the Bayerisches Gesetz- und Verordnungsblatt [Bavarian Law and Ordinance Gazette] on 8 December 1946.

The Bavarian Constitution is divided into four parts and includes a total of 188 articles. The first three articles stipulate that Bavaria is a free state, that the state authority shall emanate from the people and that Bavaria is a cultural and social state governed by the rule of law.

The Constitution can only be changed by way of legislation (Article 75). Resolutions of the Bavarian State Parliament for a change of the Constitution must be presented to the people for decision.

Attached you can find the Constitution of the Free State of Bavaria in English, French and Spanish:


Back to top