Bayerischer Landtag

Parliamentary groups

Parliamentary groups are unions in the Bavarian State Parliament with their own rights and obligations, which members of the Bavarian State Parliament come together to form. The main task of the parliamentary groups is to form political will. They prepare comments, develop items for discussion and set out the stance of the parliamentary group in the committees as well as in plenaries. In the 17th Bavarian State Parliament (2013 – 2018), four parliamentary groups are represented: CSU, SPD, FREIE WÄHLER (FREE VOTERS) and Bündnis 90/Die Grünen (ALLIANCE 90/THE GREENS).



In its 17th legislative period (2013 - 2018) the Bayerischer Landtag or Bavarian State Parliament is comprised of four parliamentary groups:

Freie Wähler
Bündnis 90 Die Grünen
The parliamentary group chairpersons (from left): Hubert Aiwanger (FREIE WÄHLER), Thomas Kreuzer (CSU), Ludwig Hartmann and Margarete Bause (both Bündnis 90/Die Grünen) and Markus Rinderspacher (SPD) | Bildarchiv Bayerischer Landtag

The government is formed by the CSU, which holds an absolute majority. The SPD, FREIE WÄHLER (FREE VOTERS) and Bündnis 90/Die Grünen (ALLIANCE 90/THE GREENS) form the opposition.

Already in the run-up to parliamentary decisions, the members of a parliamentary group seek to agree on a mutual position under one chairperson (with Bündnis 90/Die Grünen: two) and other members of the parliamentary group’s executive committee. This objective – to pursue political intentions in as unified a manner as possible – stems from a fundamental principle of parliamentary democracy, the principle of majority rule. Majorities must often be found in the course of intense discussions, internal votes or compromises. The parliamentary groups are the place for this. They prepare opinions, draw up bills and specify their respective position in the committees and in the plenum. Like the Parliament as a whole, the parliamentary groups are also organised on the basis of division of labour: the members of a parliamentary group specialise in working groups and working parties in order to live up to the diversity and complexity of parliamentary work in the Bayerischer Landtag.

For further questions, please contact the parliamentary groups directly.

Back to Top