The Bavarian State Parliament Committees

Permanent committees are set up for the duration of the electoral term that are responsible for specific domains.

The committees are made up of members of the various parliamentary parties in accordance with the balance of power in the State Parliament. They contain 22, 18 or 14 members, depending on the subject area. At the same time, the relative strengths of parties in a committee must correspond to those in the plenum of the State Parliament. The Chairs of the Committees are also allocated to the parliamentary groups in accordance with their relative strength in the State Parliament. The parliamentary groups decide which members they appoint to a committee and whom they propose as Chair or Vice-Chair.


Back to top