Bayerischer Landtag

Committee on Health and Care

18 members of Parliament in total belong to the Committee on Health and Care: ten CSU members, four SPD members and two members each from the FREIE WÄHLER (FW) and Alliance 90/The Greens (GRU).

The Bavarian State Parliament set up an independent Committee on Health and Care for the first time on 06.11.2013. Its area of responsibility is essentially the same as that of the also newly created Bavarian State Ministry of Health and Care, whose work the Committee on Health and Care monitors and scrutinises.
In detail, the responsibilities for health range from issues regarding medical provision and prevention, medical rehabilitation,
palliative medicine, the hospital system and health insurance. As far as care is concerned, the committee deals, among other things, with long-term care insurance, care of the elderly, retirement and care homes, the hospice system and the law governing „care professions“.
Within its area of responsibility, the committee assists the plenary with examining pending motions and bills and preparing appropriate decisions across the wide varied range of health and care policy. Consequently, the committee makes an important contribution to further developing this area.
Besides legislative work, the committee also tackles individual health and care policy issues as a result of pending motions, which are of particular importance to people in the Free State of Bavaria.
Current issues include consultations about improving the care situation for older citizens and improving the basic conditions for care professions in general.
The committee also hears experts to get a rounded opinion and prepare decisions. In addition, the committee advises and decides on petitions and complaints from citizens that come under its specialist area of responsibility.

The Committee on Health and Care Meetings

The meetings always take place on Tuesdays during sitting weeks. They are convened and chaired by the chairwoman. Besides the committee members and head of the committee office, state government representatives responsible for the specific agenda items also attend. With important political issues, responsible members of the government are also present. The Bavarian State Parliament‘s shorthand writers’ service documents the meetings.

Back to Top