Bayerischer Landtag

Committee on Public Health and Care Services

The Committee on Public Health and Care Services is one of the Bavarian State Parliament's 14 standing committees. It has a total of 18 members of Parliament.

Chairman Bernhard Seidenath, CSU, Vice-Chairwoman Ruth Waldmann, SPD | Bayerischer Landtag

The Bavarian State Parliament set up an independent committee on health and care for the first time on 6 November 2013. Its remit essentially corresponds to that of the newly created State Ministry of Public Health and Care Services, whose work is followed and monitored by the Committee on Public Health and Care Services.

In detail, its tasks in the field of public health range from medical care issues to prevention, medical rehabilitation, palliative medicine, hospitals and health insurance. In the area of care services, the committee deals among other things with nursing care insurance, care for the elderly, old people's and nursing homes, hospice care and the rules governing "nursing professions". In its area of responsibility, the committee supports the plenary in reviewing existing motions and bills and drawing up appropriate resolutions across the broad spectrum of health and care policy. The committee thus makes a major contribution to further development in this area.

In addition to its legislative activities, the committee also addresses individual health and care policy issues of particular importance to the people in the State of Bavaria on the basis of existing motions. Current topics include advice on improving the care situation of older citizens and generating better framework conditions for care professions in general. The committee also conducts expert hearings to gain a balanced view of opinions and prepare for decisions. Furthermore, the committee advises and decides on citizens’ petitions and complaints that fall within its area of responsibility.

Members of the Committee on Health and Care

(18 Members)

Last name First name Title Function Political party
Seidenath Bernhard Vorsitzender Fraktionslogo: CSU
Waldmann Ruth Stellvertr. Vorsitzende Fraktionslogo: SPD
Bauer Peter Prof. (Univ. Lima) Dr. Mitglied Fraktionslogo: FREIE WÄHLER
Becker Barbara Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Busch Michael C. Mitglied Fraktionslogo: SPD
Celina Kerstin Mitglied Fraktionslogo: B'90/Grüne
Eiling-Hütig Ute Dr. Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Enders Susann Mitglied Fraktionslogo: FREIE WÄHLER
Haubrich Christina Mitglied Fraktionslogo: B'90/Grüne
Holetschek Klaus Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Krahl Andreas Mitglied Fraktionslogo: B'90/Grüne
Magerl Roland Mitglied Fraktionslogo: AfD
Merk Beate Dr. Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Mittag Martin Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Radlmeier Helmut Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Spitzer Dominik Dr. Mitglied Fraktionslogo: FDP
Westphal Manuel Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Winhart Andreas Mitglied Fraktionslogo: AfD
Back to Top