Bayerischer Landtag

Committee on Food, Agriculture and Forestry

18 members of Parliament in total belong to the Committee on Food, Agriculture and Forestry: ten CSU members, four SPD members and two members each from the FREIE WÄHLER (FW) and Alliance 90/The Greens (GRU).

Chairwoman: Angelika Schorer (CSU), Vice Chairman: Ulrich Leiner (The Greens)
Chairwoman: Angelika Schorer (CSU), Vice Chairman: Ulrich Leiner (The Greens)| © Bildarchiv Bayerischer Landtag

The committee‘s area of responsibility is largely the same as that of the Bavarian State Ministry of Food, Agriculture and Forestry, whose work the committee monitors, assists and scrutinises. However, specialist areas from other ministries also affect the committee‘s area of responsibility. These include the interaction between nature conservation and agriculture, as well as water management issues associated with the agricultural industry.
The committee has its sights firmly set on efficient farmbased agriculture and sustainable forestry that ensures the supply of high-quality food and renewable resources in Bavaria. At the same time, farm businesses should be able to make an adequate income, and services of general interest should be appropriately remunerated. It is therefore all about strengthening rural areas on the whole and last but not least preparing for demographic change.
The food industry, an exceptionally innovative and productive branch of the economy, is inextricably linked to agriculture.
SME structures should be supported here. Producers, intermediate trade and processing businesses should be able to work even more efficiently hand in hand and improve their competitiveness. Raising people‘s awareness for healthy and regionally produced food, for example through appropriate information events at schools, is also increasingly becoming a key focus.
In the context of this wide varied range of responsibilities, the committee discusses motions and bills that deal with the specialist areas of food, agricultural and forestry. The committee can also hear experts to get a rounded opinion and prepare decisions.
In addition, the committee advises and decides on petitions and complaints from citizens that come under its specialist area of responsibility.

The Committee on Food, Agriculture and Forestry Meetings

The meetings always take place on Wednesdays during sitting weeks. They are convened and chaired by the chairwoman. Besides the committee members and head of the committee office, state government representatives responsible for the specific agenda items also attend. With important political issues, responsible members of the government are also present. The Bavarian State Parliament‘s shorthand writers’ service documents the meetings.

Members of the Committee on Food, Agriculture and Forestry

(18 Members)

Last name First name Title Function Political party
Schorer Angelika Vorsitzende Fraktionslogo: CSU
Leiner Ulrich Stellvertr. Vorsitzender Fraktionslogo: B'90/Grüne
Arnold Horst Mitglied Fraktionslogo: SPD
Beißwenger Eric Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Brendel-Fischer Gudrun Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
von Brunn Florian Mitglied Fraktionslogo: SPD
Herz Leopold Dr. Mitglied Fraktionslogo: FREIE WÄHLER
Häusler Johann Mitglied Fraktionslogo: FREIE WÄHLER
Kreitmair Anton Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Müller Ruth Mitglied Fraktionslogo: SPD
Schorer-Dremel Tanja Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Schwab Thorsten Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Schöffel Martin Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Sengl Gisela Mitglied Fraktionslogo: B'90/Grüne
Steiner Klaus Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Ströbel Jürgen Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Taubeneder Walter Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Woerlein Herbert Mitglied Fraktionslogo: SPD
Back to Top