Bayerischer Landtag

Committee on Petitions and Complaints

18 members of Parliament in total belong to the Committee on Petitions and Complaints, also referred to as the Petitions Committee: ten CSU members, four SPD members and two members each from the FREIE WÄHLER (FW) and Alliance 90/The Greens (GRU).

Chairwoman: Sylvia Stierstorfer (CSU) (right), Vice Chairwoman: Alexandra Hiersemann (SPD)| © Bildarchiv Bayerischer Landtag

The committee has existed in its current form since the start of the first electoral term in 1946. The origins of the right of
petition, which is anchored both in the Constitution of the Free State of Bavaria (Art. 115 BV) and in German Constitutional Law (Art. 17 GG), go back much further though to ancient times when there was already the possibility of appealing to the rulers with requests and complaints.
The committee deals almost exclusively with petitions. It only advises on motions and bills if they affect the right of petition. The Committee on Petitions and Complaints was assigned roughly 25% of the 12,000 petitions submitted to the Bavarian State Parliament in the 16th electoral term. Other specialised committees deal with the other petitions.
Its work focuses, among other things, on petitions to do with building and housing matters, personal status issues, education
and training grants and school travel costs, legal issues concerning foreigners as well as petitions for clemency or complaints from penal institutions and district hospitals.
When dealing with petitions for building permits, it is decided to carry out an on-site inspection in many cases where the responsible committee members try to find a solution together with the petitioners and public authority representatives on site.
As part of its right to scrutinise the state government, the committee examines any official contested decisions and obtains written statements from the responsible ministries. Its aim is to find solutions to the problems presented by the petitioner within what is legally possible outside the formal legal process.

The Committee on Petitions and Complaints Meetings

The meetings always take place on Wednesdays during sitting weeks. They are convened and chaired by the chairwoman. Besides the committee members and head of the committee office, state government representatives responsible for the specific agenda items also attend. With important political issues, responsible members of the government are also present. The Bavarian State Parliament‘s shorthand writers’ service documents the meetings.

Members of the Committee on Petitions and Complaints

(18 Members)

Last name First name Title Function Political party
Schwartz Harald Dr. Vorsitzender Fraktionslogo: CSU
Hiersemann Alexandra Stellvertr. Vorsitzende Fraktionslogo: SPD
Fröschl Markus Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Hofmann Michael Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Huber Martin Dr. Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Magerl Christian Dr. Mitglied Fraktionslogo: B'90/Grüne
Nussel Walter Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Rabenstein Christoph Dr. Mitglied Fraktionslogo: SPD
Ritt Hans Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Rotter Eberhard Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Rüth Berthold Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Stachowitz Diana Mitglied Fraktionslogo: SPD
Stierstorfer Sylvia Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Straub Karl Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Stümpfig Martin Mitglied Fraktionslogo: B'90/Grüne
Werner-Muggendorfer Johanna Mitglied Fraktionslogo: SPD
Widmann Jutta Mitglied Fraktionslogo: FREIE WÄHLER
Zierer Benno Mitglied Fraktionslogo: FREIE WÄHLER
Back to Top