Bayerischer Landtag

Committee on Environment and Consumer Protection

The Committee on Environment and Consumer Protection is one of the Bavarian State Parliament's 14 standing committees. It has a total of 18 members of Parliament.

Chairwoman Rosi Steinberger, ALLIANCE 90/THE GREENS, Vice-Chairman Eric Beißwenger, CSU | Bayerischer Landtag

On 10 December 1974, the Bavarian State Parliament set up for the first time an independent environmental committee to address the protection of natural resources, which has been incorporated in the Bavarian Constitution since 5 April 1984. This marked a milestone in constitutional and environmental policy not just in Bavaria but in the Federal Republic of Germany as a whole. Up till then, the protection of natural resources had not been recognised in either the German Constitution or state constitutions in the same way as in the Bavarian Constitution.

Today, the committee's remit largely corresponds to that of the Bavarian State Ministry for the Environment and Consumer Protection, whose work is monitored, supported and followed by the committee. A healthy environment is a value in itself and the basis for high quality of life. The preservation of natural resources is the benchmark for political work based on the principle of sustainability. The model of sustainability is an attempt to reconcile ecology, economy and social justice. The need for this comprehensive approach is illustrated, for example, by the complexity of climate protection. The committee combines the responsibilities for environmental protection and consumer protection. The panel advises on motions and draft laws that are specifically concerned with improving the quality of the environmental media water, soil and air and keeping them clean, as well as with protecting animals and species, consumer protection in general and food safety in particular. The committee may also hold expert hearings to gain a balanced view of opinions and prepare for decisions.

In addition, the committee advises and decides on citizens’ petitions and complaints that fall within its area of responsibility.

Members of the Committee on Environment and Consumer Protection

(18 Members)

Last name First name Title Function Political party
Steinberger Rosi Vorsitzende Fraktionslogo: B'90/Grüne
Beißwenger Eric Stellvertr. Vorsitzender Fraktionslogo: CSU
Bauer Volker Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Becker Barbara Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
von Brunn Florian Mitglied Fraktionslogo: SPD
Flierl Alexander Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Friedl Hans Mitglied Fraktionslogo: FREIE WÄHLER
Friedl Patrick Mitglied Fraktionslogo: B'90/Grüne
Hahn Ingo Prof. Dr. Mitglied Fraktionslogo: AfD
Hierneis Christian Mitglied Fraktionslogo: B'90/Grüne
Huber Martin Dr. Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Klingen Christian Dipl.-Verw.Wirt (FH) Mitglied Fraktionslogo: AfD
Loibl Petra Dr. Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Müller Ruth Mitglied Fraktionslogo: SPD
Skutella Christoph Mitglied Fraktionslogo: FDP
Steiner Klaus Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Wagle Martin Mitglied Fraktionslogo: CSU
Zierer Benno Mitglied Fraktionslogo: FREIE WÄHLER
Back to Top